FAQ: What Age Can A Child Make A Decision On Which Parent To Live With In Michigan?

At what age can a child choose which parent to live with in Michigan?

Contrary to popular belief, there is no age in Michigan when the child can unilaterally decide which parent to live with other than after age 18. The preference of the child, however, is one of the many considerations that the judge will consider when making decisions regarding child custody or parenting time.

Can a 13 year old child decide which parent to live with?

There is no ‘Magic Age’ There is no fixed age when a child can decide on where they should live in a parenting dispute. Instead their wishes are one of many factors a court will consider in reaching a decision.

Can a 10 year old decide which parent to live with?

In law, there is no fixed age that determines when a child can express a preference as to where they want to live. However, legally, a child cannot decide who they want to live with until they are 16 years old. Once a child reaches the age of 16, they are legally allowed to choose which parent to live with.

You might be interested:  Often asked: How Long Does A Judge Have To Make A Decision In Divorce Case?

How do you prove a parent unfit in Michigan?

Determining an Unfit Parent in 2021

  1. Setting Age-Appropriate Limits.
  2. Understanding and Responding to the Child’s Needs.
  3. History of Childcare Involvement.
  4. Methods for Resolving the Custody Conflict with the Other Parent.
  5. Child Abuse.
  6. Domestic Violence.
  7. Substance Abuse.
  8. Psychiatric Illness.

What age will a judge listen to a child in Michigan?

Generally speaking, a judge will take the time to interview children between the ages of 9 and 17 to find out what their preferences are when it comes to living arrangements and child custody. There’s no telling how strongly this preference will factor into the judge’s decision, though.

Can a child refuse to see a parent?

In cases where parents can’t agree, a judge will decide visitation and custody based on the child’s best interests. Both parents are bound by the terms of a custody order. If your child refuses to go to visits with the other parent, you could still be on the hook for failing to comply with a custody order.

Can my 14 year old choose where to live?

If a child is at least 14, the law allows the child to state a custodial preference, unless the judge believes doing so would be detrimental. Children can’t choose where to live until they are 18 years old.

What happens if a child wants to live with the other parent?

In some child custody courts, children are allowed to complete an Affidavit of Preference and sign. The affidavit specifies the child’s preference for his or her custodial parent.

What age will a court listen to a child?

If the question of who the child is to live with has to be resolved through court proceedings, then the courts will start to place weight on a child’s wishes when they are considered competent to understand the situation. This can be around the age of 12 or 13 but varies on the circumstances.

You might be interested:  Readers ask: How To Make A Big Decision About Moving?

Do mothers have more rights than fathers UK?

The short answer to your question is yes, fathers do have the same parental rights as mothers. However, you should know that in the UK, whereas a mum automatically obtains parental responsibility as soon as her child is born, the situation is a bit more complicated for the dad.

Can a 10 year old decide which parent to live with UK?

In England and Wales a child can choose who to live with from the age of 16, unless there are certain Court Orders in place that say otherwise. However, you can allow younger children to make this decision for themselves if you wish, but their decision alone won’t have any legal standing.

How do I prove I am a better parent in court?

Keep a file of the following records to prove that you are a great parent:

  1. Birth Certificate.
  2. Social Security Card.
  3. Academic Transcripts.
  4. Behavioral Reports.
  5. Awards and Certifications.
  6. Health Records.

Is Michigan a mom State?

Michigan – like most other states – has several different ways to recognize a child’s parentage. This form is legally binding and puts the world on notice that both the mother and father recognize that the man is the biological father of the child in question.

What makes a mother unfit in the eyes of the court?

Factors that can lead a court to deem a parent unfit include: Instances of abuse or neglect; Willing failure to provide the child with basic necessities or needs; Abandonment of the child or children; or.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *